Wooster Academic All-Americans and NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship Recipients

Academic All-Americans (since 1952)

The College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) annually selects Academic All-America® Teams in 12 programs – football, men’s soccer, women’s soccer, and volleyball in the fall, men’s basketball and women’s basketball in the winter, baseball, softball, men’s track/cross country, and women’s track/cross country as well as men’s at-large sports and women’s at-large sports in the spring. At-large sports include crew, fencing, field hockey, golf, gymnastics, ice hockey, lacrosse, rifle, skiing, swimming, tennis, and water polo. Starting in 2011-12, a first-team, second-team, and third-team are selected in NCAA Div. I, II, and III, and NAIA (football consists of just first- and second-teams). Prior to that, they were broken down by University (NCAA Div. I and I-AA) and College (NCAA Div. II and III, and NAIA) Divisions. The Academic All-American® Teams are currently sponsored by Capital One.

Here is a list of Wooster's 36 Academic All-Americans®, broken down by year.

Name Sport Year (Honor)
Dave Foy Football 1973
Blake Moore Football 1977
Blake Moore Football 1978
Blake Moore Football 1979
Dale Fortner Football 1980
John Weisensell Football 1980
Karen Light Volleyball 1984 (1st)
Nora Jean Lund Volleyball 1985 (2nd)
Lisa Diment Women’s Basketball 1986 (HM)
Matt Hiestand Baseball 1988 (2nd)
Carissa Conner Women’s At-Large (Field Hockey) 1992 (3rd)
Eric Hicks Men’s At-Large (Tennis) 1992 (1st)
Matt Mahaffey Football 1998 (2nd)
Matt Mahaffey Football 1999 (1st)
Ryan Hartschuh Football 2002 (2nd)
Kayla Heising Women’s At-Large (Swimming) 2003 (1st)
Kayla Heising Women’s At-Large (Swimming) 2004 (2nd)
Matt Schlingman Men’s Basketball 2004 (2nd)
Matt Schlingman Men’s Basketball 2005 (1st)
Katie Wieferich Women's Cross Country/Track & Field 2006 (2nd)
Rick Drushal Football 2006 (1st)
Tim Presto Men's Soccer 2006 (1st)
Sheldon Steiner Baseball 2007 (2nd)
Katie Wieferich Women's Cross Country/Track & Field 2007 (2nd)
Jay Keener Men's Soccer 2008 (3rd)
Chantal Koechli Women's Soccer 2008 (1st)
Ryan Story Men's At-Large (Lacrosse) 2009 (3rd)
Jay Keener Men's Soccer 2009 (1st)
Chantal Koechli Women's Soccer 2009 (1st)
Ryan Story Men's At-Large (Lacrosse) 2010 (1st)
Paige Piper Women's Soccer 2010 (3rd)
Erin Plews-Ogan Women's Cross Country/Track & Field 2011 (3rd)
Kelsey Peters Women's Soccer
2011 (2nd)
Paige Piper Women's Soccer 2011 (1st)
Kelsie Herring Women's Cross Country/Track & Field 2012 (2nd)
Erin Plews-Ogan Women's Cross Country/Track & Field 2012 (2nd)
Paige Piper Women's Soccer 2012 (2nd)
Kelley Johnson Volleyball 2012 (1st)
Shawna Ferris Women's At-Large (Lacrosse) 2013 (1st)

1st indicates first-team honoree
2nd indicates second-team honoree
3rd indicates third-team honoree
HM indicates honorable mention selection

NCAA Postgraduate Scholarships (since 1964)

The NCAA awards 174 postgraduate scholarships annually, 87 for men and 87 for women. The scholarships – one-time, non-renewable grants of $7,500 – are awarded to student-athletes who excel academically and athletically, who are in their final year of intercollegiate athletics competition, and who intend to continue academic work beyond the baccalaureate degree as a part-time or full-time graduate student. Each sports season (fall, winter, and spring), there are 29 scholarships available for men and 29 scholarships available for women.

Name Sport Year (Honor)
Blake Moore Football 1979-80
Claire Roberts Women’s Soccer/Track 1993-94
Scott Meech Men’s Basketball 1994-95
Debbie King Women’s Swimming 1995-96
Kelly James Women’s Soccer 1996-97
Matt Mahaffey Football 1999-00
Kate Dunne Field Hockey 2001-02
Kayla Heising Women’s Swimming 2003-04
Matt Schlingman Men’s Basketball 2004-05
Kyle Witucky Men’s Basketball 2005-06
Rick Drushal Football 2006-07
Sheldon Steiner Baseball 2006-07
Kelley Johnson Volleyball 2012-13